Xbox One scales back launch to 13 markets this November


During E3, Microsoft revealed the Xbox One would launch for $500 in November, initially to 21 different markets. In a blog post This week, Microsoft called that lofty goal “aggressive,” and has announced the Xbox One will only be available in 13 territories this November.

Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and New Zealand will be the first launch territories for Xbox One and are unaffected by this news today. Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland, however, will receive the console “as soon as possible” in 2014.

If you live in one of these affected countries and have pre-ordered an Xbox One, Microsoft will toss in an unknown free game as penance for the delay. For more information, Microsoft suggests contacting your local retailer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s